Eden Candidates Line Up For Westmorland And Furness Election In May

By Robert Haile

The new County Council elections will take place on May 5 to decide who will sit on the 65 seat council and which party will have the control.

Cumbria currently works with a county and borough, district or city council but from April 2023 this system will change to a unitary authority with the county being split into two.

Cumberland will be made of Copeland Borough, Allerdale Borough and Carlisle City while Eden District, South Lakeland District and Borrow Borough will form Westmorland and Furness.

Of the 65 councillors for Westmorland and Furness South Lakeland will elected 30, Eden 16 and Barrow 19 but who is standing and which political parties are being represented.


Alston and Fellside

Andy Baker – Liberal Democrat

Michael Richard Beveridge – Conservative Party

Michael Timothy Hanley – Labour Party

Ian Lindsey – Labour Party

Dale Andrew Normington – Conservative Party

Mary Robinson – Independent

Richard Raymond William Sanderson – Liberal Democrat

Appleby and Brough

Harry Berkeley – Conservative Party

Andy Connell – Liberal Democrat

Gareth Hayes – Independent

William Patterson – Independent

Graham Simpkins – Liberal Democrat

Colin Smith – Conservative Party

Eamont and Shap

Neil Hughes – Liberal Democrat

Tom Lowther – Conservative Party

Eden and Lyvennet Vale

Lorna Ann Baker – Liberal Democrat

Paula Breen – Conservative Party

Neil McCall – Liberal Democrat

Mike Tonkin

David Whipp – Conservative Party

Greystoke and Ullswater

Judith Margaret Derbyshire – Liberal Democrat

Debbie Wicks – Conservative Party

Hesket and Lazonby

Colin Atkinson – Conservative Party

Roger Burgin – Liberal Democrat

Hilary Frances Carrick – Conservative Party

David Evans – Liberal Democrat

Belinda Lucy Lloyd – Green Party

Elaine Mary Martin – Independent

David Ryland – Independent

Kirkby Stephen and Tebay

Ray Briggs – Conservative Party

Phil Dew – Conservative Party

Sandy Lancaster – Independent

John Stephen Murray – Liberal Democrat

Adrian Harvey Martin Waite – Liberal Democrat

Penrith North

Patricia Ann Bell – Liberal Democrat

Peter Devine – Independent

Harry Fearon – Conservative Party

Helen Jane Fearon – Conservative Party

Scott Jackson – Independent

Ali Ross – Green Party

Mark Brian Rudhall – Liberal Democrat

Wade Tidbury – Green Party

Penrith South

Gillian Elizabeth Barnes – Conservative Party

Margaret Clark – Independent

Mike Eyles – Liberal Democrat

Richard Kevin O’Brien – Green Party

Lee Quinn – Independent

Virginia Christine Taylor – Liberal Democrat

Matt Vickers – Conservative Party