Allerdale Candidates Line Up For Cumberland Election In May

By Robert Haile

The new County Council elections will take place on May 5 to decide who will sit on the 46 seat council and which party will have the control.

Cumbria currently works with a county and borough, district or city council but from April 2023 this system will change to a unitary authority with the county being split into two.

Cumberland will be made of Copeland Borough, Allerdale Borough and Carlisle City while Eden District, South Lakeland District and Borrow Borough will form Westmorland and Furness.

Of the 46 councillors Copeland will elected 12, Allerdale 16 and Carlisle 18 but who is standing and which political parties are being represented.


Aspatria Ward

John Cook – Conservative Party

Lauren Exley – Liberal Democrat

Peter Kendall – Labour Party

Alison Heather Parker – Green Party

Kevin Thurlow – Independent

Bothel and Wharrels Ward

Fran Eilbeck – Independent

Malcolm Grainger – Conservative Party

Jill Perry – Green Party

Cockermouth North Ward

Catherine Mabel Bell – Conservative Party

Fiona Elspeth Cumming Jayatilaka – Liberal Democrat

Helen Tucker – Labour and Co-Operative Party

Cockermouth South Ward

Stephen Christopher Barnes – Liberal Democrat

Keith Fitton – Green Party

Michael Neville Pemberton – Conservative Party

Andrew Irving Semple – Labour Party

Dearham and Broughton Ward

Nicky Cockburn – Independent

Martin Trevor Mundahl Harris – Labour Party

Neil Richmond Rumbold – Conservative Party

Harrington Ward

Herbert Briggs – Independent

Chris Clarkin – Conservative Party

Hilary Harrington – Independent

Denise Susan Rollo – Labour Party

Keswick Ward

Markus Dale Campbell-Savours – Labour Party

Elaine Haraldsen – Conservative Party

Clive Hutchby – Independent

Maryport North Ward

George Masterton Kemp – Independent

Carni McCarron-Holmes – Labour Party

Steve Newton – Conservative Party

Maryport South Ward

James Adrian Kirkbride – Independent

Bill Pegram – Labour Party

Antony Todd – Conservative Party

Moss Bay and Moorclose Ward

Jacqueline Diane Kirkbride – Conservative Party

Neil Anthony Schofield – Labour Party

Stephen Stoddart – Independent

Seaton Ward

Alistair John Grey – Green Party

Jimmy Grisdale – Labour Party

Paul Scott – Independent

Colin Sharpe – Conservative Party

David Surtees – Reform UK

Solway Coast Ward

Tony Markley – Conservative Party

Sharon Josephine Clair Watson – Green Party

St. John’s and Great Clifton Ward

Mark Anthony Fryer – Labour Party

Deb Garton – Conservative Party

Peter Gaston – Independent

Fliss Watts – Green Party

St. Michael’s Ward

Margaret Bennett – Liberal Democrat

Barbara Ann Cannon – Labour and Co-Operative Party

John Connell – Conservative Party

Will Wilkinson – Independent

Thursby Ward

Jonathan Paul Graham – Independent

Mike Johnson – Conservative Party

Shane Christopher McCarthy – Labour Party

Roger Peck – Liberal Democrat

Dianne Estelle Standen – Green Party

Wigton Ward

Sandra Lorraine Hodson – Independent

Elaine Lynch – Labour Party

Alan Clifford Curnuck Pitcher – Conservative Party