Carlisle Candidates Line Up For Cumberland Election In May

By Robert Haile

The new County Council elections will take place on May 5 to decide who will sit on the 46 seat council and which party will have the control.

Cumbria currently works with a county and borough, district or city council but from April 2023 this system will change to a unitary authority with the county being split into two.

Cumberland will be made of Copeland Borough, Allerdale Borough and Carlisle City while Eden District, South Lakeland District and Borrow Borough will form Westmorland and Furness.

Of the 46 councillors Copeland will elected 12, Allerdale 16 and Carlisle 18 but who is standing and which political parties are being represented.



Helen Davison – Green Party

Gareth Michael Ellis – Conservative Party

David Graham – Labour Party

Alan Toole – Independent

Belle Vue

James Robert Bainbridge – Conservative Party

Abdul Harid – Labour Party


Louise Atkinson – Labour Party

Robert William Betton – Independent

Marilyn Louise Bowman – Conservative Party

Robert John Scott Inglis – Green Party


Tom Adams – Green Party

Mike Mitchelson – Conservative Party

Iain Armstrong Owens – Labour Party


Syed Fiftul Ali – Conservative Party

Anne Glendinning – Labour Party

Gavin Hawkton – Green Party

Rob Heal – Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts

Corby and Hayton

Timothy Robert Cheetham – Conservative Party

Roger Dobson – Liberal Democrat

Raymond Tinnion – Independent


Lisa Margaret Brown – Labour Party

Brent Kennedy – Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts

Fiona Jane Robson – Conservative Party

Dalston and Burgh

Trevor Allison – Liberal Democrat

Alex Key – Labour Party

James Ernest White – Conservative Party

Denton Holme

Grahame Higginson – Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts

Stuart Kelly – Liberal Democrat

Ann Vipond McKerrell – Conservative Party

Christopher John Southward – Labour Party

Harraby North

Robert Gordon Currie – Conservative Party

Ernie Percival – Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts

Cyril Fredrick Weber – Labour Party

Harraby South

Linda Margaret Mitchell – Conservative Party

Lucy Patrick – Labour Party

Sean Clifford Reed – Independent

Houghton and Irthington

Beth Furneaux – Labour Party

John Mallinson – Conservative Party

Paul Anthony Nettleton – Liberal Democrat


Sam Bown – Conservative Party

Timothy David Pickstone – Liberal Democrat


Donna Louise Bertoletti – Green Party

Neville John Lishman – Conservative Party

Anne Quilter – Labour Party

Stanwix Urban

Paul Atkinson – Labour Party

Elizabeth Anne Mallinson – Conservative Party

Paul Nedved – Independent

Brian Kevin Wernham – Liberal Democrat


Leighton Llewellyn Rees – Conservative Party

Chris Wills – Labour Party


Ruth E Alcroft – Labour Party

Julia Kim Dobson – Liberal Democrat

Geoff Mitchell – Conservative Party


Stephen Haraldsen – Conservative Party

Jeanette Maria Whalen – Labour Party