Barrow Candidates Line Up For Westmorland And Furness Election In May

By Robert Haile

The new County Council elections will take place on May 5 to decide who will sit on the 65 seat council and which party will have the control.

Cumbria currently works with a county and borough, district or city council but from April 2023 this system will change to a unitary authority with the county being split into two.

Cumberland will be made of Copeland Borough, Allerdale Borough and Carlisle City while Eden District, South Lakeland District and Borrow Borough will form Westmorland and Furness.

Of the 65 councillors for Westmorland and Furness South Lakeland will elected 30, Eden 16 and Barrow 19 but who is standing and which political parties are being represented.


Dalton North

Stephen John Coleman – Liberal Democrat

Daniel Christopher Edwards – Conservative Party

Robert Douglas Elliot – Labour Party

Rachael Hogg – Liberal Democrat

Ben Shirley – Conservative Party

Dalton South

Peter Graham Baker – Liberal Democrat

Tony Callister – Labour Party

Des English – Conservative Party

Martin David McLeavy – Independent

Barbara Lilian Miller – Liberal Democrat

Steve Nott – Labour Party

Sam Ronson – Conservative Party

Dave Taylor – Independent

Hawcoat and Newbarns

David Robert Cassidy – Labour Party

Sheila Eccles – Liberal Democrat

Denise Hazel Edwards – Independent

Les Hall – Conservative Party

Christine Pearl Herbert – Liberal Democrat

Mike Leach – Labour Party

Wendy Ada McClure – Independent

David Ian Benett Opie – Liberal Democrat

Niyall Allister Phillips – Conservative Party

Hayley Louise Preston – Labour Party

Steven Lindsay Pryer – Independent

Roy Worthington – Conservative Party

Old Barrow and Hindpool

Anne Bispham – Conservative Party

Anne Burns – Labour Party

Adam Grant Campbell – Liberal Democrat

Piya Das – Conservative Party

Gill Gardiner – Liberal Democrat

Kevin Robert Hamilton – Labour Party

Brenda Joyce Lauderdale – Conservative Party

Stephen Raymond Pickthall – Liberal Democrat

Margaret Ann Thomson – Labour Party

Ormsgill and Parkside

Derek Brook – Labour Party

Elaine Burley – Conservative Party

Ann Denise English – Conservative Party

Bill McEwan – Labour Party

Beverly Ann Morgan – Labour Party

Jayne Marie Richardson – Liberal Democrat

Phil Walker – Liberal Democrat

Alasdair Wilkinson-Marsh – Liberal Democrat

Emma Louise Wylie – Conservative Party

Risedale and Roosecote

Michael Wilson Barwise – Liberal Democrat

Trevor Alan Biggins –

Andy Coles – Labour Party

Derek Gawne – Conservative Party

Ronnie Haddow – Conservative Party

Jane Amelia Murphy – Labour Party

Lynda Lea Shaw – Conservative Party

Jade Sullivan – Liberal Democrat

Heather Troughton – Liberal Democrat

Walney Island

Therese Mary Assouad – Labour Party

Frank Cassidy – Labour Party

Steven Fletcher – Independent

Terri-Ann Gibney – Conservative Party

Chris Hogg – Liberal Democrat

Anita Gwendoline Husband – Labour Party

Tina Perkins – Liberal Democrat

Paul Allen Rose – Conservative Party

Steve Sharpe – Conservative Party

Paul Martin Trollope – Liberal Democrat