Copeland Candidates Line Up For Cumberland Election In May

By Robert Haile

The new County Council elections will take place on May 5 to decide who will sit on the 46 seat council and which party will have the control.

Cumbria currently works with a county and borough, district or city council but from April 2023 this system will change to a unitary authority with the county being split into two.

Cumberland will be made of Copeland Borough, Allerdale Borough and Carlisle City while Eden District, South Lakeland District and Borrow Borough will form Westmorland and Furness.

Of the 46 councillors Copeland will elected 12, Allerdale 16 and Carlisle 18 but who is standing and which political parties are being represented.


Bransty Ward

Sean Cullen – Independent

Joseph Ghayouba – Labour Party

Charles Edward Maudling – Conservative Party

Ryan Gerard Redmond – Independent

Cleator Moor and Frizington

Linda Jones-Bulman – Labour Party

Christopher Paul Turner – Conservative Party

Aliscia Marie Ellie Wood – Independent

Cleator Moor West

Rhiannon Connors – Independent

Michael Christopher – Labour Party

Ged McGrath – Conservative Party


Shane Branthwaite – Independent

Jeffrey Hailes – Conservative Party

Sam Pollen – Labour Party

Egremont North and St Bees

Reginald Graham Minshaw – Labour Party

Louis Thomason – Independent

Chris Whiteside – Conservative Party


James Richard Dickaty – Labour Party

Mike Minogue – Liberal Democrat

David Willis Moore – Conservative Party

Hillcrest and Hensingham

Edwin Dinsdale – Independent

Jeanette Forster – Labour Party

High Brian O’Kane – Conservative Party


Martin Steven Barbour – Conservative Party

William Robert Dixon – Heritage Party – Free Speech and Liberty

Eren McGuire – Independent

Gillian Ruth Troughton – Labour Party

Kevin Young – Independent

Kells and Sandwith

Tanisha Dobinson – Independent

Arthur William Creighton Lamb – Conservative Party

Emma Louise Williamson – Labour Party


Bob Kelly – Labour Party

Doug Wilson – Conservative Party

Millom Without

Jeff Amos – Liberal Democrat

Andy Pratt – Conservative Party

Anna Mary Todd – Labour Party


Gemma Dinsdale – Independent

Oliver Joseph Dorgan – Conservative Party

Mike Hawkins – Labour Party

Tony Lowrey – Independent

Wammo Walmsley – Independent