Dynamite Max Verstappen Wins Belgian Grand Prix In Red Bull One – Two

By Robert Haile

Max Verstappen and Red Bull went four places further back than Hungary and still came away with victory.

A grid place penalty for engine components sent world champion Verstappen from pole position to fourteenth from where he for the second race in a row went on to win.

Second placed Sergio Perez of Mexico and Oracle Red Bull Racing passes his team celebrating on the pitwall during the F1 Grand Prix of Belgium at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps on August 28, 2022 in Spa, Belgium. (Photo by Rudy Carezzevoli/Getty Images)

Race winner and championship leader Verstappen said: “This whole weekend has been incredible. It’s never easy though, it was quite a hectic first lap staying out of trouble, so many things were happening in front of me and everyone was trying to maintain their spot.

“After the safety car and when it had all calmed down, we made our way forward by picking the right places to overtake and we could look after our tyres. Now we need to keep on working hard and focus on each race ahead of us.

“We know that we have to finish every race, we don’t need to win every race but we want to as a Team. Let’s see what we can do in Zandvoort.”

Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz kept the lead and soon the first incident of the day as Lewis Hamilton’s Mercedes jumped off Fernando Alonso’s Alpine after the pair had jumped Sergio Perez, who dropped to fifth.

The Safety Car was deployed when Alfa Romeo’s Valtteri Bottas spun in avoidance of Williams Nicholas Latifi, who was avoiding Alpine’s Esteban Ocon.

The race resumed with Sainz diving away from Perez who was under pressure from George Russell’s Mercedes and Alonso.

While Verstappen was making waves as he was up to the podium places by lap eight and took the lead on lap twelve sweeping past teammate Perez as the pit stops started.

Russell pitted on lap fourteen with Perez coming the lap after to over the Mercedes team but came out close to Charles Leclerc and touched the Ferrari.

Verstappen stopped and came out in second behind Sainz before retaking the lead and Perez soon took second off Ferrari.

Red Bull set off never looking troubled with Perez pitting to cover Ferrari on lap twenty eight.

Sainz took third after overtaking Russell while Leclerc’s late pit stop to go after the fastest lap back fired as he and Alonso traded places for fifth but a five second penalty put him back behind the Alpine.

Seventh went to Esteban Ocon for Alpine with Aston Martin’s Sebastian Vettel in eighth, AlphaTauri’s Pierre Gasly and Williams Alex Albon rounded out the points places.

Aston Martin’s Lance Stroll, McLaren’s Lando Norris were just outside the points in eleventh and twelfth while Yuki Tsunoda’s AlphaTauri, Zhou Guanyu’s Alfa Romeo and McLaren’s Daniel Ricciardo were further back.

Kevin Magnussen beat Mick Schumacher as Haas came sixteenth and seventeenth with Williams’ Nicholas Latifi came home last.

Hamilton and Bottas were the only two not to finish the race.

After two big wins for Verstappen the Orange Army will be in full voice as Formula One heads to the Zandvoort circuit for the Dutch Grand Prix.

Drivers Championship

  1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull) – 284
  2. Sergio Perez (Red Bull) – 191
  3. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) – 186
  4. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) – 171
  5. George Russell (Mercedes) – 170
  6. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) – 146
  7. Lando Norris (McLaren) – 76
  8. Esteban Ocon (Alpine) – 64
  9. Fernando Alonso (Alpine) – 51
  10. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo) – 46
  11. Kevin Magnussen (Haas) – 22
  12. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin) – 20
  13. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren) – 19
  14. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri) – 16
  15. Mick Schumacher (Haas) – 12
  16. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri) – 11
  17. Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo) – 5
  18. Alex Albon (Williams) – 4
  19. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin) – 4
  20. Nicholas Latifi (Williams) – 0
  21. Nico Hulkenberg (Aston Martin) – 0

Constructors Championship

  1. Red Bull – 475
  2. Ferrari – 357
  3. Mercedes – 316
  4. Alpine – 115
  5. McLaren – 95
  6. Alfa Romeo – 51
  7. Haas – 34
  8. AlphaTauri – 29
  9. Aston Martin – 24
  10. Williams – 4