Barrow Raiders Ladies Make It Three Wins In A Row In The Women’s Super League

By Robert Haile

Barrow Raiders Ladies are making history in their debut season as they go three games unbeaten in the Women’s Super League.

In today, June 26, game the visitors to Barrow were Castleford Tigers.

It was another dominant home display as the Raiders ran out 46-10 winners with tries from Christina Tully, Sarah Wilkinson, Emily Stirzaker, three for Vanessa Temple, Demi Fisher, Kerri-Ann Smith and Michelle Larkin with Jodie Litherland converting some.

Barrow Raiders Ladies Head Coach Amanda Wilkinson speaking after the match – Barrow Raiders Ladies Twitter

The result moves the Raiders into third.

The two other games in Group 2 had Featherstone Rovers beating Leigh Miners Rangers 34-4 to stay second and unbeaten league leaders Warrington Wolves 0-54 victory over Bradford Bulls.

In Group 2 of the Women’s Super League Barrow will face Bradford Bulls, Castleford Tigers, Featherstone Rovers, Wakefield Trinty and fellow new team Leigh Miners Rangers.

In Group 1 St Helens lost 18-20 to Leeds Rhinos on Thursday June 23 and then on Sunday June 26 Wigan Warriors were beat 0-46 by table topping York City Knights.

Like in the Mens Super League the season will end with a playoff involving the top four from each Group with the Group 2 Shield Final to be played as part of a double header with the Group 1 Grand Final.

The winners of the Shield Final will be promoted to Group 1 for 2023 with no team being relegated to Group 2.

Group 1 Fixtures

Thursday June 23

St Helens 18-20 Leeds Rhinos

Sunday June 26

Wigan Warriors 0-46 York City Knights

Group 2 Results

Sunday June 26

Barrow Raiders 46-10 Castleford Tigers

Featherstone Rovers 34-4 Leigh Miners Rangers

Bradford Bulls 0-54 Warrington Wolves

Group 1 Table

  1. York City Knights – 8
  2. Leeds Rhinos – 4
  3. St Helens – 2
  4. Wigan Warriors – 2
  5. Huddersfield Giants – 0

Group 2 Table

  1. Warrington Wolves – 8
  2. Featherstone Rovers – 8
  3. Barrow Raiders – 6
  4. Bradford Bulls – 6
  5. Leigh Miners Rangers – 2
  6. Castleford Tigers – 0
  7. Wakefield Trinity – 0