Cumberland Executive Meets For First Time

The Executive for the Shadow Authority for Cumberland Council has met for the first time as it begins the process of laying the foundations for the new council.

At the meeting held in Carlisle on Wednesday June 15, councillors received an update on the progress for local government reorganisation in Cumbria from the Programme Director, Kim Rennie.

Executive members who were in attendance for the meeting on 15 June 2022. Left to right: Cllr Bob Kelly; Cllr Denise Rollo, Cllr Lisa Brown; Cllr Mark Fryer; Cllr Martin Harris; Cllr Barbara Cannon; Cllr Chris Southward.

This included an overview of work to date as well as confirmation of the Implementation Plan going forward, and the team set-up to deliver it.

As part of the process of reorganisation, Councillors also agreed the details of contracts and land disposals that the current district councils and county council can enter into only with the consent of the Executive of the Shadow Authority.

The Executive for the Shadow Authority is responsible for most of the day-to-day decisions.

The ten councillors that make up the Executive are:

  • Cllr Mark Fryer – Leader of the Council
  • Cllr Lisa Brown – Statutory Deputy Leader with responsibility for Governance and Enabling
  • Cllr Emma Williamson – Non-Statutory Deputy Leader with responsibility for Children and Families
  • Cllr Elaine Lynch – responsible for Education, Skills and Training
  • Cllr Denise Rollo – responsible for Environment and Highways
  • Cllr Bob Kelly – responsible for Policy and Performance
  • Cllr Chris Southward – responsible for Digital and Customer Services
  • Cllr Barbara Cannon – responsible for Finance and Assets
  • Cllr Martin Harris – responsible for Health and Adult Care
  • Cllr Anne Quilter – responsible for Heritage and Leisure

Councillor Mark Fryer, Leader of the Council, said: “Now that the Executive has been established, we are working together to build the foundations for the new Cumberland Council.

“I’m grateful for the support from my fellow Members and look forward to putting in place the plans for the future.

“We’re less than 10 months away from establishing the council and we’re grateful for the support of staff and the project team.

“Together we’ll make it happen.”

More details on the Shadow Authority for Cumberland Council, including future meeting dates, can be found

There were 46 councillors elected onto the Shadow Authority for Cumberland Council in May 2022.

These councillors were elected for a five-year term of office, the first year on the Shadow Authority that will oversee the planning and preparation for the new unitary council, followed by four years on Cumberland Council, which will ‘go live’ in April 2023.

Cumberland Council will cover the area currently served by Carlisle City Council, Allerdale Borough Council, Copeland Borough Council and Cumbria County Council

The existing county, borough and district councils continue to operate and deliver all current services until Vesting Day for the new authority on April 1 2023.

On that date the Shadow Authority and its 46 councillors become the new Cumberland Council and it will take over responsibility for services.

At that point the existing county, city, and borough councils will be dissolved.

More information on the changes to local government can be found here.