Barrow Raiders Women’s Super League Journey Continues

By Robert Haile

Barrow Raiders Women continue their Women’s Super League journey with a match against a familiar team.

Fellow new Super League side Leigh Miners Rangers Ladies head up to Barrow in a replay of the 2021 Grand Final on Sunday June 5.

The game will be in memory of Barrow Raiders Ladies assistant coach Alex Broadhead.

While Barrow Raiders season started with defeat to Warrington Wolves, Leigh Miners Rangers opened the season with victory over Wakefield Trinity and then lost a close game to Bradford Bulls.

The other games in Group 2 have Wakefield Trinity hosting Bradford Bulls on Saturday June 4.

Then Featherstone Rovers face Warrington Wolves on Sunday June 5 the same day Barrow play Leigh.

In Group 2 of the Women’s Super League Barrow will face Bradford Bulls, Castleford Tigers, Featherstone Rovers, Wakefield Trinty and fellow new team Leigh Miners Rangers.

In Group 1 Wigan Warriors travel to the Huddersfield Giants while York City Knights host Leeds Rhinos on Sunday 5.

With the leagues having an odd number in each this year Leeds Rhinos from Group 1 and Castleford Tigers in Group 2 have a week off.

Like in the Mens Super League the season will end with a playoff involving the top four from each Group with the Group 2 Shield Final to be played as part of a double header with the Group 1 Grand Final.

The winners of the Shield Final will be promoted to Group 1 for 2023 with no team being relegated to Group 2.

Group 1 Fixtures

Sunday June 5

Huddersfield Giants v Wigan Warriors

York City Knights v Leeds Rhinos

Group 2 Fixtures

Saturday June 4

Wakefield Trinity v Bradford Bulls

Sunday June 5

Barrow Raiders v Leigh Miners Rangers 12:00 kickoff

Featherstone Rovers v Warrington Wolves 2pm (14:00) kickoff

Group 1 Table

  1. York City Knights – 4
  2. Leeds Rhinos – 2
  3. St Helens – 2
  4. Huddersfield Giants – 0
  5. Wigan Warriors – 0

Group 2 Table

  1. Warrington Wolves – 4
  2. Featherstone Rovers – 4
  3. Leigh Miners Rangers – 2
  4. Bradford Bulls – 2
  5. Barrow Raiders – 0
  6. Castleford Tigers – 0
  7. Wakefield Trinity – 0