England Announce Squad For #raisethebat First Test Against West Indies

England National Cricket Selectors have named the 13-strong squad for the first Test match against the West Indies at Ageas Bowl, Southampton, starting on Wednesday, July 8.

Along with the 13-strong test team there will be nine players that will remain at the Ageas Bowl as Test reserves.

With Joe Root’s decision to withdraw to be at the birth of his second child Durham all-rounder Ben Stokes is set to become the 81 England men’s Test captain.

The former Cockermouth player, Stokes, has been on an upward trajectory and has been seen as an England captain for the future.

Yorkshire’s Root, will returned to Sheffield to be at the birth of his second child, left the secure bubble in Southampton earlier this week.

Due to COVID-19 he will self-isolate for seven days before joining up with the squad ahead of the second Test at Emirates Old Trafford starting on July 16.

While Shannon Gabriel has been added to the West Indies Test squad, the experienced fast bowler was among the reserves.

He has now been drafted into the 15-member Test squad after proving his fitness following ankle surgery.

He has 133 wickets, placing him at number 15 in the West Indies all-time list of Test match wicket-takers.

England Men’s Test Squad

Ben Stokes (Durham) Captain, James Anderson (Lancashire), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Dominic Bess (Somerset), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Rory Burns (Surrey), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Zak Crawley (Kent), Joe Denly (Kent), Ollie Pope (Surrey), Dom Sibley (Warwickshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham).

Test Reserves

James Bracey (Gloucestershire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Ben Foakes (Surrey), Dan Lawrence (Essex), Jack Leach (Somerset), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Craig Overton (Somerset), Ollie Robinson (Sussex), Olly Stone (Warwickshire).

West Indies Test Squad

Jason Holder (captain), Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shamarh Brooks, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Chemar Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Raymon Reifer, Kemar Roach

Test Reserves

Sunil Ambris, Joshua DaSilva, Keon Harding, Kyle Mayers, Preston McSween, Marquino Mindley, Shayne Moseley, Anderson Phillip, Oshane Thomas, Jomel Warrican