Cumbria Cricket League Round Up As Last Over Drama Decides Match

By Robert Haile

The Cumbria Cricket League continues with the last over of matches deciding the outcome of matches in all three divisions.

In the Premier Division Workington continued their 100 percent start to the season on Saturday May 20.

The league leaders welcomed Whitehaven and the hosts won the toss and decided to bat first with Jonathon Stewart making 36 not out as they made 159 for 6 off the full 50 overs.

Workington got off to a stuttering start with Jonathan Stewart taking two quick wickets to reduce the hosts to 15 for 2.

Jake Daniel and Davis Mills steadily made progress as they took Workington to 162 for 2 and victory with Daniel making 99 and Mills 43.

Carlisle sit second after a successful run chase at home to Cleator.

The visitors won the toss and decided to bat making 115 for 8 as James Rogers made 32 and Carlisle’s Nico Watt took 4 wickets for 14 runs.

It was almost a successful defence from Cleator as they restricted Carlisle with Michael Slack making 37 on their way to 118 for 7 as Steven Lee took 3 wickets for 31 as all 5 bowlers took wickets.

Millom set the highest total of the day in the Premier Division as they won the toss and batted first at Lindal Moor.

Bryce Street reached 100 before being run out by Freddie Scrogham and Anthony Foster made 52 before Edward Waind trapped him for LBW as Millom hit 253 for 7.

Having starred with the bat Bryce Street then took 3 wickets for 16 runs with Robbie Wilson also taking 3 wickets for 18 as Lindal Moor were bowled out for 136 as Brad Stephens made 65.

Home side Furness won the toss and batted first against Cockermouth and were bowled out for 119 with Harris Woods top scoring with 39 as Sam Sharp took 7 wickets for 37 runs.

Sam Sharp them helped guide the visitors home with a 28 not out as Cockermouth reached 120 for 5 with Peter Lawson taking 3 wickets for 42 runs.

Wigton won the toss at Haverigg and batted first with Kieran Little’s 56 and Matthew Reed’s 40 helping them to 168 all out with Haverigg’s Jordan Postlethwaite taking 5 wickets for 15 runs.

In reply Haverigg’s Pramod Maduwantha made 73 not out as the home side reached 171 for 7 with Cameron McGuinness leading the bowler with 3 wickets for 36.

Keswick and Egremont came to a nail biting conclusion.

The visitors Egremont won the toss and batted first with Vathsal Govind’s 81 being supported by Mark Ponticelli’s 39 and Coady Scott’s 33 as they reached 209 for 9 as the five Keswick bowlers all picked up wickets.

Chasing down Egremont’s total Keswick took it to the last over, needing 9 off the last 6 balls.

Risith Upamal was run out on 67 and James McGowan followed on 47 as the home side squeezed home for a draw, finishing on 209/8.

On Saturday May 20 leaders Workington travel to Furness while second placed Carlisle head to third placed Millom.

Fourth placed Cleator host Keswick, Egremont make the trip to Cockermouth, Whitehaven face Haverigg and Wigton face Lindal Moor.

Premier Division Results

Workington 162/2 – Whitehaven 159/6

Carlisle 118/7 – Cleator 115/8

Lindal Moor 136 All Out – Millom 253/7

Furness 119 All Out – Cockermouth 120/5

Keswick 209/8 – Egremont 209/9

Haverigg 171/7 – Wigton 168 All Out

Premier Division Table

  1. Workington – 40
  2. Carlisle – 34
  3. Millom – 28
  4. Cleator – 28
  5. Furness – 27
  6. Cockermouth – 22
  7. Haverigg – 20
  8. Lindal Moor – 19
  9. Keswick – 16
  10. Whitehaven – 15
  11. Egremont – 13
  12. Wigton – 8

Dalton lead Division One with two win from two after a 7 wicket win at home to Seascale.

Batting first after winning the toss the visitors made 135 as Tom Reece top scored with 46 as they were bowled out with Daniel Sharpe taking 5 wickets for 31 runs.

The top three for Dalton put them in a winning position with Rob Jones 40, Jos Braund Smith 43 and Jos Edwards 29 helping take them to 136 for 3.

All twenty wickets fell at Millom as both side were bowled out.

The home side won the toss and batted first with Joshua Mackie falling on 48 as Millom 2nd reached 167 as Workington 2nd’ Robson Scott took 4 wickets for 19 runs.

Cade Heavyside and Fred Mcverry did the damage for Millom 2nd as both took 3 wickets for a combined 7 runs as Workington 2nd were bowled out for 78 with Nick Wood’s 18 to of the Workington batters.

Ulverston won the toss and put Kirkby in Furness into bat.

The Ulverston bowlers restricted the visitors to 94 from their 50 overs with Raghavendra Kurkal 20 and Paul New 23 top scoring as Stuart Cooper took 3 wickets for 23 runs.

Ben Dryden led the batting for Ulverston as he made 37 before being bowled by Mark Etchells.

Harrison Thomson’s 29 and Jamie Butterworth’s 22 took Ulverston over the line to 95 for 2.

Furness 2nd moved into fourth after a 33 run victory at Cockermouth 2nd.

Furness won the toss and decided to bat first with Mitchell Smith scoring 62 and Sam Dixon 40 as they made 181 for 6 with Ethan Hardie-Knight and Andrew Knott taking 2 wickets each.

Chasing Cockermouth were dismissed for 148 with Ethan Hardie-Knight’s 28 and Reagan Scott’s 25 the highest totals as Mitchell Smith took 5 wickets for 34 and Jordan Buchanan 3 for 14.

Last seasons Division Two champions Vickerstown came back with a win over Hawcoat Park.

Batting first the hosts made 212 for 5 from their 50 overs with John Burns unbeaten 95 and Jack Litherland’s 47 not out the top scorers for Vickerstown.

In reply Callum Muncaster’s 44 top scored for Hawcoat Park as Gareth Benson and George Scott both took 4 wickets for a combined 36 runs as they bowled Hawcoat out for 93.

Dalton face Vickerstown on Saturday May 20 as Millom head to Kirkby in Furness and Ulverston travel to Seascale.

Hawcoat Park take on Furness and Workington 2nd host Cockermouth 2nd.

Division One Results

Dalton 136/3 – Seascale 135 All Out

Millom 2nd 167 All Out – Workington 2nd 78 All Out

Ulverston 95/2 – Kirkby in Furness 94/6

Cockermouth 2nd 148 All Out – Furness 2nd 181/6

Vickerstown 212/5 – Hawcoat Park 93 All Out

Division One Table

  1. Dalton – 20
  2. Millom 2nd – 19
  3. Ulverston – 19
  4. Furness 2nd – 13
  5. Vickerstown – 13
  6. Seascale – 11
  7. Hawcoat Park – 10
  8. Cockermouth 2nd – 8
  9. Workington 2nd – 3
  10. Kirkby in Furness – 1

There is a three way tie at the top of Division Two after the the round on Saturday May 13.

Barrow sit top after a 136 run victory over Dalton 2nd.

Batting first after winning the toss Barrow’s Glen Kermode made 59 as they finished on 156 for 7.

In reply Dalton 2nd were bowled out for 20 with Glen Kermode and Finlay Holmes taking 4 wickets each.

Egremont are second after 41 run victory against Lindal Moor 2nd.

Winning the toss Lindal Moor put hosts Egremont into bat with Lewis Gribbin making 76 and Cohen Henry’s 46 helping take Egremont to 213 for 7.

Chasing Lindal Moor’s Billy Hughes’ 83 and Dave Mansergh’s 54 helped Lindal to 172 for 5 as they ran out of overs.

In a low scoring game Cleator 2nd were bowled out for 23 as Kevin Rogan took 4 wickets for 6 runs and Connor Penrith took 3 wickets for 4.

In reply Haverigg 2nd reached 25 in fourteen overs.

Whitehaven 2nd were awarded the points as Ulverston 2nd conceded the match.

Egremont 2nd host Whitehaven 2nd in a top of the table clash while Barrow travel to Haverigg 2nd on Saturday May 20.

Lindal Moor 2nd face Dalton 2nd and Ulverston 2nd welcome Cleator 2nd.

Division Two Results

Barrow 156/7 – Dalton 2nd 20/9

Egremont 2nd 213/7 – Lindal Moor 2nd 172/5

Cleator 2nd 23 All Out – Haverigg 2nd 25/1

Whitehaven 2nd – Ulverston 2nd CONCEDED

Division Two Table

  1. Barrow – 20
  2. Egremont – 20
  3. Whitehaven 2nd – 20
  4. Haverigg 2nd – 15
  5. Cleator 2nd – 10
  6. Lindal Moor 2nd – 5
  7. Dalton 2nd – 3
  8. Ulverston 2nd – -20