Miami Qualifying Heats Up With Back To Back Poles For Sergio Perez

By Robert Haile

The first trip to America has not disappointed as Sergio Perez took Pole Position for the Miami Grand Prix.

In their new livery for the weekend Red Bull continued their dominance as Perez held off Aston Martin’s Fernando Alonso and Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz as Charles Leclerc brought the shootout to an early end.

think it’s been my worse weekend up to qualifying,” said Pérez.

“It wasn’t coming together. I was struggling for balance and confidence. But now I have a great opportunity from pole.

“We are the ones that have something to lose but we will go out there and enjoy this amazing crowd.”

Haas will be hoping to impress as this is the first of three home Grand Prix for the American owned team along with Williams’ American driver Logan Sargeant.

Almost going out in the first session were surprise strugglers Mercedes with George Russell and Lewis Hamilton leaving it very late to progress.

A shock exit did come with Aston Martin’s Lance Stroll joining McLaren duo of Lando Norris and Oscar Piastri.

Yuki Tsunoda’s AlphaTauri and Sargeant were the other two to exit early in the first session.

Mercedes again played with fire and Hamilton got burnt as the seven time world champion went out in the second qualifying session.

One Haas made it through to the top ten as Nico Hulkenberg went out with the Williams of Alex Albon, Alfa Romeo’s Zhou Guanyu and AlphaTauri’s Nyck de Vries falling in the session.

In the top ten shootout Perez shot to provisional pole with Alonso joining him in the front row and Sainz third and Kevin Magnussen’s Haas a surprise fourth.

Alpine’s Pierre Gasly took fifth ahead of Russell, Leclerc took seventh as he end the session early by being out a red flag with just over three minutes left.

Esteban Ocon took eighth as Championship leader Max Verstappen and Alfa Romeo’s Valtteri Bottas take ninth and tenth after not setting a time.

The Miami Grand Prix race starts at 8:30pm (20:30) in the UK.

Miami Grand Prix Qualifying

  1. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
  2. Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin)
  3. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
  4. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)
  5. Pierre Gasly (Alpine)
  6. George Russell (Mercedes)
  7. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
  8. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)
  9. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  10. Vallteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)
  11. Alex Albon (Williams)
  12. Nico Hulkenberg (Haas)
  13. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
  14. Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo)
  15. Nyck de Vries (AlphaTauri)
  16. Lando Norris (McLaren)
  17. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)
  18. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
  19. Oscar Piastri (McLaren)
  20. Logan Sargent (Williams)