Cumbria Cricket League’s Premier Division Gets Underway

By Robert Haile

A full fixture list was played in the Cumbria Cricket League over the bank holiday weekend.

All Premier Division clubs got their season started on Saturday April 29.

Carlisle start their title defence in the field at home to Keswick as the visitors won the toss and batted first.

All six Carlisle bowlers took wickets with Michael Slack leading the way with 3 for 22 runs as they bowled Keswick out for 131 with Will Atkinson and Risith Upamal top scoring with 26.

Upamal struck twice to remove Carlisle’s opening pair but Slack top scored with 54 and Ben Davidson with 45 got the home side to 132 to win.

Last seasons second placed side Cockermouth got off to a difficult start at Whitehaven as they put the home side into bat.

Going the full 50 overs Leo Sanczuk made 39 as Whitehaven reached 164 for 9 as Sam Sharp and Alex Grainger 3 wickets each.

In reply Cockermouth were bowled out for 135 with Gareth White reaching 36 as Jonathan Stewart led the Whitehaven bowling attack with 3 wickets as all five took wickets.

Early leaders Workington won the toss and put visitors Millom into bat with Robert Thompson making 21 as they were bowled out for 105 as David Pearce took 3 for 17.

Davis Mills added to his two wickets with an unbeaten 46 as Workington reached 107 for 7 with Millom’s Paul O’Callaghan taking 3 for 32.

Winning the toss Cleator put Haverigg into bat and bowlers Ian Clark, David Blackwell and Tom Sharpe all took 3 wickets as the visitors were dismissed for 112 with Drew Postlethwaite and Dale Graham scoring 28.

In reply Abdul Muzammil’s 35 not out helped guide Cleator to 115 for 4.

Visiting Wigton won the toss and put hosts Furness into bat.

Setting the highest total of the round Mark Daly made 56 and Liam Curwen reached 52 as Furness set Wigton 258.

Wigton were bowled out for 109 with all seven Furness’ bowlers taking wickets.

It was a winning return to the Premier Division for Lindal Moor as they won the toss and put visitors Egremont into bat.

Another all round bowling display where the wickets were shared dismissed Egremont for 115 with Vathsal Govind scoring 32.

Chasing Lindal Moor reached 119 for with Aseem Wadhwa top scoring with 39 not out.

On Coronation Saturday, May 6 Workington head to Wigton, Carlisle travel to Egremont, Whitehaven face Furness, Cleator welcome Lindal Moor, Cockermouth take on Keswick and Millom play Haverigg.

Premier Division Results

Lindal Moor 119/4 – Egremont 115 All Out

Carlisle 132/2 – Keswick 131 All Out

Cleator 115/4 – Haverigg 112 All Out

Furness 258/7 – Wigton 109 All Out

Whitehaven 164/9 – Cockermouth 135 All Out

Workington 107/7 – Millom 105 All Out

Premier Division Table

  1. Workington – 20
  2. Carlisle – 14
  3. Furness – 14
  4. Lindal Moor – 14
  5. Whitehaven – 14
  6. Cleator – 14
  7. Cockermouth – 8
  8. Millom – 8
  9. Egremont – 6
  10. Haverigg – 6
  11. Keswick – 5
  12. Wigton – 4

While King Charles III is coronated Saturday May 6 Division One will get under way on.

Promoted Vickerstown head to Seascale while relegated Dalton travel to Kirkby in Furness.

Furness 2nd host Millom 2nd, Hawcoat Park take on Cockermouth 2nd and Ulverston face the trip to Workington 2nd.

Division One Fixtures

Furness 2nd v Millom 2nd

Hawcoat Park v Cockermouth 2nd

Kirkby in Furness v Dalton

Seascale v Vickerstown

Workington 2nd v Ulverston

Division One Table

  1. Cockermouth 2nd – 0
  2. Dalton – 0
  3. Furness 2nd – 0
  4. Hawcoat Park – 0
  5. Kirkby in Furness – 0
  6. Millom 2nd – 0
  7. Seascale – 0
  8. Ulverston – 0
  9. Vickerstown – 0
  10. Workington 2nd – 0

The teams in Division Two will also start on May 6 with relegated Egremont 2nd heading to Haverigg 2nd, Cleator 2nd travel to Lindal Moor 2nd as Ulverston 2nd host Barrow.

A day later on Sunday May 7 Dalton 2nd take on Whitehaven 2nd.

Division Two Fixture

Haverigg 2nd v Egremont 2nd

Lindal Moor 2nd v Cleator 2nd

Ulverston 2nd v Barrow

Dalton 2nd v Whitehaven 2nd

Division Two Table

  1. Barrow – 0
  2. Cleator 2nd – 0
  3. Dalton 2nd – 0
  4. Egremont – 0
  5. Haverigg 2nd – 0
  6. Lindal Moor 2nd – 0
  7. Ulverston 2nd – 0
  8. Whitehaven 2nd – 0