Westmorland And Furness Election Candidates Published As Voters Are Reminded About Voter ID

The candidates contesting the first elections to be held in the new Westmorland and Furness have been published.

Polling will take place on May 4 in a number of parish and town council elections across the area, as well as in a by-election for the vacant Old Barrow and Hindpool seat on Westmorland and Furness Council following the death of Councillor Ann Thomson in January.

Following the close of nominations, it has been confirmed there will be elections for the following parish/town councils ONLY:

  • Barrow Parish Council – all 11 wards will be contested
  • Penrith Town Council – three wards will be contested, Penrith North, Penrith South and Penrith West
  • Asby Parish Council
  • Crosby Ravensworth Parish Council
  • Kirkby Stephen Parish Council
  • Matterdale Parish Council
  • Musgrave Parish Council

There will be no polls in all other parish/town councils in Westmorland and Furness with scheduled elections this year, as the number of candidates standing did not exceed the number of vacant seats available, and therefore the nominated candidates were returned unopposed.

This applies to all the parish and town councils with scheduled elections this year in the South Lakeland area, where all were uncontested, as well as parish/town councils in Askam and Ireleth, Dalton with Newton, and Lindal and Marton in the Barrow area.

Electors in areas with no scheduled elections or where the scheduled elections have been confirmed as uncontested will not need to attend polling stations in May 4, even if they have received a poll card in the post.

Postal voters in areas without an election will not receive a ballot pack.

Only those eligible to vote in the Westmorland and Furness Old Barrow and Hindpool ward, the 11 wards for the new Barrow Parish Council, the three contested wards on Penrith Town Council and the parish councils of Asby, Crosby Ravensworth, Kirkby Stephen, Matterdale and Musgrave in the Eden area will be voting on May 4.

The Statements of Persons Nominated have been published, listing all the candidates that will be hoping to gain one of the available seats in those contested elections.

In order to vote on May 4 , residents must be on the electoral register and residents are being urged to ensure they are registered to vote.

You can register online at www.gov.uk/register-to-vote

The UK Government has also introduced a requirement for voters to show photo ID when voting at a polling station at elections.

This new requirement will apply for the first time at the local elections on May 4.

That means voters will need to show photo ID to be allowed to vote at polling stations at any parish or town council elections, or the Westmorland and Furness Council by-election, in May.

From October 2023 this requirement for voters to show photo ID will also apply to UK General Elections.

Accepted forms of photo ID include a UK, European Economic Area (EEA) or Commonwealth passport; a UK or EEA drivers’ licence and some concessionary travel passes, such as an older person’s bus pass.

Voters will be able to use expired ID if they are still recognisable from the photo.

If you don’t already have any of the accepted forms of photo ID listed, you can apply for a free voter ID document, which is known as a Voter Authority Certificate.

Applicants must be registered to vote and will need to provide their date of birth, National Insurance number and a photograph.

The deadline to apply for a Voter Authority Certificate for this May’s elections is 5pm on Tuesday, April 25 2023.

You can apply online at www.gov.uk/applyforphotoidtovote

Paper forms are available from local council offices in Barrow, Kendal and Penrith.

You don’t need photo ID to vote by post, so you don’t need to apply for a Voter Authority Certificate if you choose to vote this way.