One Division Left In The Cumbria Cricket League As Lindal Moor Take Division One Title

By Robert Haile

It all comes down to one game in the Cumbria Cricket League as Carlisle or Cockermouth will be Premier Division champions.

On Saturday September 10 Carlisle maintained their five point advantage over Cockermouth.

Travelling to Egremont Carlisle were put into bat by the home side with opener Marc Brown going through the full 50 overs scoring 100 not out as they reached 209.

Nico Watt then starred with the ball taking 6 wickets for 9 runs as Egremont were dismissed for 65.

Cockermouth welcomed Workington and put the visitors into bat dismissing them for 82.

The opening pair of Gareth White and Alex Grainger took Cockermouth home with White scoring 35 not out and Grainger 45.

Third placed Keswick secured the position at Haverigg after winning the toss and batting first.

Stephen Hindmarch top scored with 61 as the top six made double figures each as Keswick finished on 269 from their 50 overs.

In reply Haverigg were bowled out for 92 with all of Keswick’s bowlers taking wickets as Dan Gaskell finished with 5 for 10 runs.

Furness will end the campaign in fourth after putting Wigton into bat first with the home side making 146 from their 50 overs with Christopher Hodgson making 52.

Ryan Griffiths and Nathan Waterston 38s set Furness on the way to catching Wigton with the visitors making 148 to win.

At Millom the home side put visitors Dalton into bat first with Rob Jones scoring 67 as they reached 170.

The home sides Dec Tyson and Primosh Perara took them to victory with Tyson scoring 65 and Perara 74 as Dalton couldn’t find a way to the win they needed to take it to the last game as they will play in Division One next season.

Cleator lost the toss and were put into bat with Kasun Madushanka’s 32 top scoring for them as Whitehaven dismissed them for 123.

In reply Stephen Holliday’s 62 and Timycen Maruma’s 47 helped take the visitors to 124 and another 10 points.

Lindal Moor returned to the Premier Division with victory at Hawcoat Park.

Winning the toss Lindal Moor put Hawcoat Park into bat with Callum Muncaster scoring 47 as they were bowled out for 137 with each Lindal bowler taking a wicket.

It looked like it could all go wrong as Hawcoat reduced the visiting league leaders to 15/3 before James Hale’s 72 helped take them to within touching distance as Ryan Gilmour’s 39 took them home.

Second placed Ulverston did their part batting first at home to Millom 2nd where they 147 with Gareth Yates scoring 47 not out.

At the fall of the last wicket Millom were 154 with seven overs left as Michael Holmes scored 95 not out.

Third played fourth as Furness 2nds hosted Seascale.

The home side batted first with Elliot Maxfield scoring 65 as they made 157 from their 50 overs.

In reply Adam Brown made 58 as they chased down Furness finishing on 160 and overtaking the hosts into third.

A quick game between Kirkby in Furness and Cockermouth 2nd as the hosts won the toss and batted first being bowled out for 88 with Mark Middleton taking 5 for 21.

Chasing Cockermouth’s Ian Buchanan made 35 as they got to 89 with 2 wickets left.

At the bottom Workington 2nds sent Egremont 2nds back to Division Two.

After winning the toss Egremont batted first and were bowled out for 50 in reply Workington’s Callum Sutton scored 35 as the hosts reached 51 for the loss of 1 wicket.

Premier Division

Cleator 123 All Out v Whitehaven 124/2

Cockermouth 84/1 v Workington 82 All Out

Egremont 65 All Out v Carlisle 209/9

Haverigg 92 All Out v Keswick 269/5

Millom 171/1 v Dalton 170/7

Wigton 146/9 v Furness 148/4

Premier Division Table

  1. Carlisle – 189
  2. Cockermouth – 184
  3. Keswick – 167
  4. Furness – 152
  5. Millom – 135
  6. Workington – 106
  7. Cleator – 98
  8. Wigton – 89
  9. Haverigg – 78
  10. Whitehaven – 77
  11. Egremont – 68
  12. Dalton – 50

Division One Fixtures

Furness 2nd 157/9 v Seascale 160/5

Hawcoat Park 137 All Out v Lindal Moor 141/5

Kirkby in Furness 88 All Out v Cockermouth 2nd 89/8

Ulverston 176 All Out v Millom 2nd 154 All Out

Workington 2nd 51/1 v Egremont 2nd 50 All Out

Division One Table

  1. Lindal Moor – 154
  2. Ulverston – 144
  3. Seascale – 112
  4. Furness 2nd – 106
  5. Hawcoat Park – 102
  6. Millom 2nd – 92
  7. Kirkby in Furness – 91
  8. Cockermouth 2nd – 78
  9. Workington 2nd – 74
  10. Egremont 2nd – 54

Division Two Fixture

Cleator 2nd v Dalton 2nd

Division Two Table

  1. Vickerstown – 147
  2. Whitehaven 2nd – 146
  3. Lindal Moor 2nd – 97
  4. Barrow – 91
  5. Cleator 2nd – 85
  6. Dalton 2nd – 54
  7. Haverigg 2nd – 54
  8. Ulverston 2nd – 48