Red Bull Take One-Two In Emilia Romagna Grand Prix

By Robert Haile

After yesterday’s Sprint qualifying race almost sent the Ferrari fans wild the Grand Prix was bitter sweet.

Max Verstappen retook pole position in the sprint race and never looked back as Red Bull went in to take first and second in the Grand Prix.

Race winner Verstappen said: “To have a weekend like this for both of us with a one-two for the team is just incredible.

“It was a very lovely Sunday! Everything today was well executed, coming into the weekend I didn’t expect it to be like this.

“It was more or less a perfect weekend, everything went well for us and we’ll enjoy today.

“I scored the maximum amount of points this weekend and we can be really proud of that as a team, it’s a great boost.

“Today was all about judging the conditions, making the right calls and staying very focused, and I think we did that very well.

“We need to keep focused and we know that at the next race we need to be up there again and keep this going.”

At the start Verstappen got away cleanly as Charles Leclerc started badly from second as Perez and Norris jumped into second and third.

The Ferrari fans were left devastated as Carlos Sainz and Daniel Ricciardo went off while the McLaren driver continued out of the gravel but the Ferrari driver could not bringing a safety car out.

Mercedes driver George Russell jumped up to sixth gaining five places from the start.

On the damp track Ricciardo pitted first around lap 19 moving onto the medium tyres with the rest of the grid following.

At the front second placed Perez came in first before Verstappen and Leclerc giving the place to Leclerc before taking it back on the track.

It took over half the race for DRS to be enabled making it easier for drivers to overtake.

With the race settling into a rhythm Leclerc came into the pits for soft tyres with 13 laps left it didn’t work straight away with Norris taking third off him before hitting back later in the lap.

Red Bull’s brought Perez then Verstappen in to cover the Ferrari move.

On lap 53 Leclerc was pushing for second when he spun off the track hitting the wall but taking no damage and keeping the engine running as Norris went past making it back to the pit they changed tyres as the Ferrari dropped to sixth.

As the chequered flag waved Verstappen and Perez finished first and second with McLaren’s Norris taking third.

George Russell’s Mercedes finished fourth after late pressure from Alfa Romeo’s Valtteri Bottas with Leclerc behind in sixth.

AlphaTauri’s Yuki Tsunoda took seventh ahead of Aston Martin’s Sebastian Vettel as Haas’ Kevin Magnussen split the two Aston’s with Lance Stroll in tenth as the British based team scored their first points of the season.

Just outside the points finished Williams’ Alex Albon in eleventh with AlphaTauri’s Pierre Gasly behind as Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton finished thirteenth.

Esteban Ocon’s Alpine came home fourteenth with Alfa Romeo’s rookie Zhou Guanyu, Williams’ Nicholas Latifi, Haas’ Mick Schumacher and McLaren’s Daniel Ricciardo bringing up the rear after the pair didn’t recover from the opening lap spins.

The only two not to finish were Alpine’s Fernando Alonso and Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz.

Formula One then heads to a new track and the teams first visit to the United States of America with the Miami Grand Prix on 6-8 May.

Drivers Championship

  1. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) – 86
  2. Max Verstappen (Red Bull) – 59
  3. Sergio Perez (Red Bull) – 54
  4. George Russell (Mercedes) – 49
  5. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) – 38
  6. Lando Norris (McLaren) – 35
  7. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) – 28
  8. Esteban Ocon (Alpine) – 20
  9. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo) – 24
  10. Kevin Magnussen (Haas) – 15
  11. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren) – 11
  12. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri) – 10
  13. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri) – 6
  14. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin) – 4
  15. Fernando Alonso (Alpine) – 2
  16. Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo) – 1
  17. Alex Albon (Williams) – 1
  18. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin) – 1
  19. Mick Schumacher (Haas) – 0
  20. Nico Hulkenberg (Aston Martin) – 0
  21. Nicholas Latifi (Williams) – 0

Constructors Championship

  1. Ferrari – 124
  2. Red Bull – 113
  3. Mercedes – 77
  4. McLaren – 46
  5. Alfa Romeo – 25
  6. Alpine – 22
  7. AlphaTauri – 16
  8. Haas – 15
  9. Aston Martin – 5
  10. Williams – 1