Copeland Conservatives Announce Candidates For Historic Cumberland Election

It might seem like it’s a while away but the political parties in Cumbria are starting to prepare for the County Council elections in May.

First to announce are the Copeland Conservative Association with its list of 12 candidates who will contest the Copeland seats in the historic first Cumberland Council election.

Andy Pratt, Chairman of Copeland Conservative Association, said: “Our candidates come with significant knowledge and experience across all sectors, and we look forward to working for and with the people of Cumberland to ensure it continues to be a great place to live and work for all.”

The Conservative candidates who will contest seats in the Copeland area of Cumberland are:

  • Bransty – Charles Maudling
  • Cleator Moor East and Frizington – Paul Turner
  • Cleator Moor West – Ged McGrath
  • Egremont – Jeff Hailes
  • Egremont North and St Bees – Chris Whiteside
  • Gosforth – David Moore
  • Hillcrest and Hensingham – Brian O’Kane
  • Howgate – Martin Barbour
  • Kells and Sandwith – Arthur Lamb
  • Millom – Doug Wilson
  • Millom Without – Andy Pratt
  • Mirehouse – Oliver Dorgan

The new unitary Cumberland Council will replace the current county and borough council structure in May 2023, and will be responsible for running all the services in the area covering Copeland, Allerdale and Carlisle.

A total of 46 councillors will be elected to Cumberland Council on May 5, 2022, initially forming a shadow authority for a 12-month transition period and will continue in their roles for a further four-year term as the new council takes control in May 2023.

For more information and contact details for the candidates, plus maps of the electoral wards, visit and follow the group on Facebook (@cumberlandconservatives) and Twitter (@cumberland_cons)