Max Verstappen Wins Mexican Grand Prix To Extend Championship Lead

By Robert Haile

After the shock of Valtteri Bottas taking pole position for Mercedes at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, grid penalties moved plenty of drivers to the back.

Aston Martin’s Lance Stroll will start in twentieth with Alpine’s Esteban Ocon nineteenth, McLaren’s Lando Norris in eighteenth and Yuki Tsunoda’s AlphaTauri in seventeenth after all four changed parts of their power units.

George Russell’s Williams changed a gear box moving him down to sixteenth.

In a dominant performance Max Verstappen extended his lead and cut Mercedes lead to one point in the constructors championship.

Verstappen said: “It was an incredible day for the team and also for the fans, to have Checo (Sergio Perez) on the podium here in Mexico at his home Grand Prix was great, so it couldn’t have been better.

“I knew the start was very important today, we were three wide at one point and I was on the more ideal race line so I could brake later and get into the lead.

“After that I could do my own thing, the pace was very good today so I could just keep building and creating a gap, the pit stops were seamless and the car was good throughout the race which was crucial today.

“Checo, for the last few races has really picked it up, he’s been up there and he was really pressuring Lewis (Hamilton) today towards the end.

“I’m still not thinking about that trophy, we’ll try again in Brazil and just keep pushing.”

After qualifying third Verstappen came out best as Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas went into the first corner together.

Things got worse for Bottas as he tangled with McLaren’s Daniel Ricciardo sending hi to the back of the race.

AlphaTauri’s Yuki Tsunoda and Haas’ Mick Schumacher came together bringing an end to their race.

The race then settled into its rhythm with overtaking difficult the drama waited until after the pit stops.

Home hero Sergio Perez had became the first Mexican to lead the Grand Prix and was chasing down second place Hamilton.

Catching the defending champion on the last lap Perez couldn’t find a way past.

With the top three sorted Pierre Gasly took fourth for AlphaTauri with Ferrari’s Charle Leclerc and Carlos Sainz in fifth and sixth.

Aston Martin’s Sebastian Vettel finished seventh with Kimi Raikkonen’ Alfa Romeo in eighth and former champion Fernando Alonso making it three in a row as his Alpine came in ninth ahead of McLaren’s Lando Norris.

Formula One will head to Brazil on November 12-14.