Historic Day In Cumbria Cricket League

By Robert Haile

The Division Two match between Cleator and Haverigg on Saturday, June 5 made history in Cumbria as two women umpired for the first time.

Mary Smith and Keavy Horricks took to the middle as Cleator, featuring three generations of Wisharts, beat visitors Haverigg.

Division Two

Cleator 2nd 124/1 – Haverigg 2nd 121/6

The home side won the toss and put the visitors into bat with Thomas Crowther making fifty six as Haverigg made one hundred and twenty one. In reply Steven Lee scored sixty two not out as Cleator reached one hundred and twenty four.

Barrow 2nd 133 All Out – Ulverston 2nd 158/4

Ulverston won the toss and batted first setting one hundred and fifty eight with John Dilkes scoring sixty two. In their chase Barrow’s batsman made good starts with many players getting into double figures but were bowled out for one hundred and thirty three.

Millom 2nd 123 All Out – Egremont 2nd 52 All Out

All twenty wickets fell as Millom set Egremont one hundred and twenty three to chase. The visitors were themselves bowled out for fifty two.

Vickerstown 1st 152/5 – Dalton 2nd 151/6

Dalton opened the scoring after winning the toss with Ross Peoples scored fifty six as the visitors reached one hundred and fifty one. John Burns led the charge scoring sixty eight as Will Savage and Gareth Benson got Vickerstown over the line to reach one hundred and fifty two.

Division One

Cockermouth 2nd 216/5 – Whitehaven 2nd 220/3

Cockermouth batted first after winning the toss and looked like they’d made a good choice as Reegan Scott and Andrew Knott both passed fifty runs as the visitors were set two hundred and sixteen. Whitehaven’s Jamie Bell had other ideas making one hundred and twelve not out as they reached two hundred and twenty.

Egremont 1st 203/3 – Seascale 1st 199/9

The division’s two unbeaten side met at Gilfoot Park with Seascale winning the toss and batting first. Joe Hammond and Adam Brown both scored into the sixties as the visitors made one hundred and ninety nine. Jack Stubbings made seventy three not out as the home side made two hundred and three to stay top of the division.

Lindal Moor 2nd 59/5 – Hawcoat Park 1st 57 All Out

This was a short match as Hawcoat Park were put into bat by the home side. Callum Muncaster made thirty five as the visitors were bowled out for fifty seven. Lindal Moor in reply made it to fifty nine with Kanha Kukreti scoring twenty not out.

Ulverston 1st 157 All Out – Kirkby in Furness 1st 163 All Out

Plenty of wickets fell as Ulverston put Kirkby into bat. Rob Fugler made fifty as Kirkby were bowled out for one hundred and sixty three. Ulverston got off to a rocky start at forty nine for five. Stuart Cooper and Paul Storey both made forty’s before Ulverston were bowled out six runs short.

Workington 2nd 80/6 – Furness 2nd 77 All Out

In a low scoring game Workington came out on top after Furness won the toss and decided to bat. The visitors were then bowled out for seventy seven. Workington then set about their task reaching eighty in twenty five overs.

Premier Division

Carlisle 1st 214/6 – Workington 1st 131 All Out

Winning the toss Carlisle batted first with Mike Slack making one hundred and nine as the home side reached two hundred and fourteen. Workington’s chase ended at one hundred and thirty one.

Dalton 1st 171 All Out – Millom 1st 263/9

Millom won the toss and batted first with Primosh Perara scoring sixty five as they made two hundred and sixty three. Dalton’s Daniel Sharpe scored eighty five as the hosts were bowled out for one hundred and seventy one.

Furness 1st 248/4 – Lindal Moor 1st 128 All Out

Promod Maduwantha made ninety six after Furness had won the toss and batted first to set the visitors two hundred and forty eight. Lindal Moor fell short being bowled out for one hundred and twenty eight.

Haverigg 1st 161/7 – Cockermouth 1st 118 All Out

Haverigg batted first with Dale Graham scoring sixty five as they made one hundred and sixty one. In their chase Cockermouth shared the runs but were bowled out for one hundred and eighteen.

Keswick 1st 272/8 – Wigton 1st 186 All Out

Geeth Kumara reached his century as Keswick made two hundred and seventy two batting first. Wigton replied well with the top and middle scoring well before a tail end collapse left them at one hundred and eighty six all out.

Whitehaven 1st 110 All Out – Cleator 1st 114/8

The home side batted first with Aneeq Hassan scoring forty four as David Blackwell and Sacthira Perera took nine wickets between them. Cleator reached one hundred and fourteen for the loss of eight wickets with James Hocking scoring thirty five.