Wickets Galore In Cumbria Cricket League

By Robert Haile

The damp weather made way and matches were able to be played on Saturday, May 22.

Premier Division

Carlisle 1st 183/8 – Furness 1st 182 All Out

Carlisle continued their unbeaten start with a one run victory over Furness. Batting first the home team set the visitors one hundred and eighty three with Mike Slack making fifty seven. Furness pushed the hosts all the way and fall short in the last over after Promod Maduwantha made fifty seven.

Cleator 1st 96 All Out – Millom 1st 110 All Out

All ten wickets fell for both sides as Cleator put Millom into bat first. On their way to one hundred and ten Michael Wilson top scored with twenty seven for the visitors. In return Cleator were bowled out for ninety six with Millom bowler Dec Tyson taking two wickets for no runs.

Dalton 1st 183 All Out – Cockermouth 1st 186/6

The home side won the toss and batted first making one hundred and eighty three with Amari Goodridge scoring fifty two before being bowled out. In reply the visitors got off the a bad start losing two early wickets but steadied the innings and reached one hundred and eighty six with Gareth White scoring fifty four.

Haverigg 1st 55 All Out – Workington 1st 109 All Out

Another match were all ten wickets fell for both sides. Haverigg won the toss and put Workington into bat and restricted them to one hundred and nine. In reply Haverigg were bowled out for fifty five.

Keswick 1st 197/8 – Lindal Moor 1st 151 All Out

Lindal Moor won the toss and put Keswick into bat first which seemed to work as the hosts were three wickets down for eight runs. They recovered to finish with one hundred and ninety seven with Geeth Kumara scoring eighty nine not out. Lindal Moor were bowled out for one hundred and fifty one with Lasith Lakshan scoring seventy and Keswick bowler James McGown taking six wickets.

Whitehaven 1st 94 All Out – Wigton 1st 247/7

Whitehaven decided to bat second and sent Wigton in first. All the visitors batsmen add to the total to finish at two hundred and forty seven with Christopher Hodgson scoring fifty four. The home side were restricted to ninety four all out with Andrew Cameron scoring thirty two.

Division One

Cockermouth 2nd 55 All Out – Egremont 1st 272/7

Dave Raynor and Mark Ponticelli did the damage as both scored mid-nineties as Egremont set Cockermouth the highest total of the day at two hundred and seventy two. The hosts never got going and were bowled out for fifty five.

Furness 2nd 169/5 – Hawcoat Park 166 All Out

Batting first after losing the toss Hawcoat Park made one hundred and sixty six with Callum Lucas scoring fifty two. In reply Joe Amison did the damage scoring seventy as Furness reached one hundred and sixty nine.

Kirkby in Furness 1st 136/8 – Whitehaven 2nd 134/9

In a close game Kirkby put Whitehaven into bat with Robbie Harrison-Skelton and Jason Spires scoring thirty six as they made one hundred and thirty four. In reply Matthew Bruce scored fifty six as Kirkby reached one hundred and thirty six.

Lindal Moor 2nd 111 All Out – Seascale 1st 115/6

Lindal Moor were put into bat first and Phil Wilson scored forty eight as the hosts made one hundred and eleven. Seascale struggled in reply but Michael Fidler and Steve Brown Jnr took them over the line as they scored forty four and thirty four.

Workington 2nd 67 All Out – Ulverston 1st 152 All Out

Winning the toss Workington fielded first and restricted Ulverston to one hundred and fifty two with Shivan Perera reaching eighty one. Workington were bowled out for sixty seven with Perera doing the damage with the ball taking seven wickets.

Division Two

Barrow 2nd 101/8 – Dalton 2nd 138 All Out

Barrow won the toss and put Dalton into bat. Glyn Caine fell short of his half century at forty seven. In reply Barrow spread the runs out throughout the batting line up but ran out of overs at one hundred and one.

Egremont 2nd 154/8 – Haverigg 2nd 66 All Out

Haverigg put Egremont into bat and were set the highest total in the division as the host made one hundred and fifty four. In reply Haverigg were bowled out for sixty six as Neil Gribbin dismantled their batting line up to end up with six wickets.

Millom 2nd 76/8 – Vickerstown 1st 73 All Out

Millom didn’t hang around as they chased down Vickerstown total. Winning the toss Millom put the visitors into bat and bowled them out for seventy three with George Scott scoring twenty four. Losing eight wickets Millom reached seventy six in seventeen overs with Joe Simons and Daniel Mackie scoring eleven to top score for the hosts.

Ulverston 2nd 93 All Out – Cleator 2nd 95/4

Cleator made the long trip to Ulverston where they won the toss and put the hosts into bat. David Fell top scored with twenty seven as the hosts made ninety three. In response Steven Wishart made fifty five as Cleator ran out winners.