Bowled Over As Cumbria Cricket League Starts With All Match Played

By Robert Haile

A shortened 2020 season with matches from July to August was the normal for cricket clubs in Cumbria last year.

This year as the UK ticks off the road map out of lockdown the bails and stumps are out as the 2021 season launched over the May bank holiday weekend.

Saturday was the start of the league season with matches across the three divisions.

Premier Division

Cockermouth 1st 262/9 – Millom 1st 129 All Out

Cockermouth got there title challenge off to a winning start with a 133 run victory over Millom. Batting first after winning the toss the home side reached 262 off 50 overs before bowling the visitors out for 129.

Furness 1st 171/2 – Dalton 1st 167 All Out

Fielding first Furness restricted Dalton to 167, bowling them out in the final over. Losing two wickets Furness made 171 to win by eight wickets.

Haverigg 1st 168/9 – Keswick 1st 171/1

It was the visitors that came away with the spoils after winning the toss and putting the hosts into bat, Haverigg reached 168 for nine wickets. Keswick made 171 in reply losing one wicket.

Lindal Moor 1st 122 All Out – Cleator 1st 124/2

In a short match Cleator came away with a win. Lindal Moor won the toss and batted first reaching 122 before being bowled out. It took 26 overs for the visitors to reach 124 for the loss of two wickets.

Wigton 1st 124 All Out – Carlisle 1st 235/6

2019 league winners Carlisle were put into bat after Wigton won the toss. Reaching 50 overs Carlisle made 235 for the loss of six wickets. In response the hosts were bowled out for 124.

Workington 1st 199 All Out – Whitehaven 1st 140/9

Winning the toss Workington batted first falling short of 200 by one run to finish 199 all out. From there 50 overs Whitehaven made 140 for nine wickets.

Division One

Egremont 1st 68/1 – Workington 2nd 67 All Out

In a low scoring game at Gillfoot Park the home side came out with a nine wicket win. Workington won the toss and batted first and were bowled out for 67 by Egremont. It only took 11 overs for the home team to make 68 with the loss of one wicket to win.

Kirkby in Furness 1st 105/4 – Lindal Moor 2nd 104 All Out

Home team Kirkby in Furness won the toss and put the visitors into bat. Lindal Moor were bowled out 104, this paid off for the home team as they made 105 for the loss of four wickets.

Seascale 1st 195/9 – Hawcoat Park 1st 191 All Out

In a tight game it came down to the last wicket for Seascale. Hawcoat Park won the toss and batted first making 191 before being bowled out. With nine wickets down Seascale reached 195 to win.

Ulverston 1st 263 All Out – Cockermouth 2nd 250/5

In a high scoring game the home team batted first and then restricted the visitors to win. Ulverston set Cockermouth 264 to win but with wickets in hand they ran out of overs 13 runs short at 250 for five wickets lost.

Whitehaven 2nd 92 All Out – Furness 2nd 93/4

Furness won the toss and put the hosts, Whitehaven, into bat. The home team were bowled out for 92 with the visitors taking 13 overs to score 93 for the loss of four wickets to win.

Division Two

Cleator 2nd 79 All Out – Egremont 2nd 218/7

At the J.D Campbell Memorial Ground Cleator won the toss and put Egremont into bat first. The visitors made 218 off there 40 overs losing seven wickets before bowling the hosts out for 79.

Dalton 2nd 158/6 – Ulverston 2nd 160/8

Ulverston came away with a two wicket victory at Dalton Cricket Club reaching the target in 38 overs. The hosts won the toss and batted first making 158 off there 40 overs losing 6 wickets in the process.

Millom 2nd 211/3 – Haverigg 2nd 60 All Out

Millom were resounding winners by 151 runs after setting Haverigg 212 to win. Winning to toss Millom batted first losing three wickets on there way to 211. In reply the visitors were bowled out for 60.

Vickerstown 1st 84 All Out – Barrow 2nd 79 All Out

Winning the toss Vickerstown made 84 before being bowled out. Barrow almost came away with victory at Rainey Park but were bowled out five runs short at 79.