Lucky Number 13 For Cumbria As The Queen’s Birthday Honours Are Announced

The delayed Queen’s 2020 birthday honours have been announced and its lucky number 13 for the Cumbrians who’ve made the list.

On Saturday, October 10, 13 Cumbrians became either a MBE, CBE, OBE or BEM after being recognised for their hard work and dedication.

The Honours system gives national recognition to people who have given exceptional service in public and community life and are committed to making a difference to those around them.

HM Lord-Lieutenant for Cumbria, Mrs Claire Hensman congratulates all the award winners but at this time also wishes to thank all those in Cumbria who have stepped up to help in many ways during the pandemic. 

Some of those recognised in the lists today are ‘COVID-19’ volunteers. 

There will be others who also have a long record of exceptional service and Mrs Hensman is encouraging people to nominate those Cumbrians worthy of national recognition.

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

  • Mr Samuel Alan Miles Rayner of Kendal, for services to business and the community in Cumbria.

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

  • Ms Jacqueline Ruth Findlay of Appleby-in-Westmorland, for services to the administration of Justice.
  • Mr Toblas Grant Peyton-Jones of Windermere, for services to education, skills and young people.
  • Ms Kathryn Charlotte Louise Willard of Witherslack, for services to transport and the economy.

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

  • Ms Sarah Elizabeth Beale of Dalton-in-Furness, for services to girls and young people women during COVID-19.
  • Mrs Philippa Groves of Wigton, for services to the community in Cumbria particularly during COVID-19.
  • Mr William Slavin of Whitehaven, for services to homeless people, education and the community in West Cumbria.

Medallist of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)

  • Mr Christopher William Armstrong of Carlisle, for services to the NHS and community during COVID-19.
  • Dr John Danks of Penrith, for voluntary service to young people and to the community in Eden.
  • Miss Kathryn Fiona McCloghrie of Whitehaven, for services to business and the community in Cumbria during the C0VID-19 response.
  • Mr Mark Kenneth Roberts of Cockermouth, for services to the community in Cumbria during COVID-19.
  • Mr John Stobbart of Workington, for voluntary service to Maritime Safety.
  • Mr Malcolm Temple of Penrith, for services to Local Government in Cumbria.


Anyone can nominate someone for a UK Honour through the ‘open access’ system and these are awarded to people from all walks of life.

The final decision as to who receives an honour is first decided by an Honours Committee and their recommendations go to the Prime Minister and finally to HM The Queen for approval.

The process can take up to 18 months with recipients of honours announced in HM The Queen’s New Year’s Honours List and HM The Queen’s Birthday Honours List in June.

Nomination forms and advice on how to complete them are available through the Cumbria County Council websites.

Mrs Claire Hensman, HM Lord-Lieutenant for Cumbria, said: “I would like to congratulate all those who have received an honour. Receiving an honour is a huge achievement and I am pleased to see so many Cumbrians in this expanded list.

“I would encourage people to think about someone that they know who always goes the extra mile for others and who has made a special contribution to their community or to their area of work over the years.

“Anyone can nominate a person for an honour and I am very keen for people who have given exceptional service to the community to receive the recognition they deserve.

“These awards are special and for me they are the highest possible recognition of a job well done.”